Duke of Edinburgh Award

Tiuka o Edinburgh tohu

What is the Duke of Edinburgh Programme all about at East Otago High School?

It introduces students to exciting, positive, challenging and enjoyable things to do in their free time. It encourages friendships amongst those taking part, and across the generations with teachers and support groups such as the Mountain Safety Council who give up their time to share skills and help organise the programme.

How does it work?

Through a four Section programme with three levels:

  • Bronze: open to all ages 14 and over and lasting at least 6 months.

  • Silver: open to all ages 15 and over and lasting at least 12 months.

  • Gold: open to all aged 16 and over and lasting at least 18 months.


  • Service – giving help in the local community.

  • Skills – covering almost any non-physical hobby, skill or interest.

  • Adventurous Journey – training for, practising, planning and completing a journey on foot, horseback or by boat or cycle.

  • Physical Recreation– sport, dance and fitness.

  • Residential Project for the Gold level only – spending 5 or more days on a purposeful project with new companions.